©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.0 

Vathek

By William Beckford & Joe R. Lansdale &
Vathek by William Beckford & Joe R. Lansdale &  digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

A chilling addition to the Haunted Library of Horror Classics.

When you have all you could ever want—power, wealth, influence, status—what's left to wish for?

First published in 1786, William Beckford's classic tale combines the lush setting of The Arabian Nights with a gothic nightmare. Vathek, the fierce ninth caliph of the Abassides, has the world at his feet. Nothing is beyond his grasp, until a hideous stranger sells him glowing swords with letters on them that cannot be translated even by experts—because the letters keep changing as if by magic!

Obsessed with obtaining the stranger's knowledge, Vathek undertakes an increasingly horrific search as he ventures into the underworld, meeting demons and witches. Will anything be enough to turn him from his foolish and terrifying quest? Or will the lust for power prove too strong to resist?

Featuring an introduction by acclaimed writer Joe R. Lansdale, the Haunted Library of Horror Classics is proud to present this classic gothic horror novel.

A timeless exploration of power, greed, and often elusive redemption, this shining example of literary occult horror poses the question: are the answers to ancient secrets worth your soul?

  • Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Bram Stoker
  • For readers who enjoy classical literature and horror novels
  • Collect all of the Haunted Library of Horror Classics

1 Review

3.0

Leslie S. Klinger

LESLIE S. KLINGER is the two-time Edgar® winning editor of New Annotated Sherlock Holmes and Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s. He has also edited two anthologies of classic mysteries and, with Laurie R. King, five anthologies of stories inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon. Klinger is the series editor of Library of Congress Crime Classics, a partnership of the Library of Congress and Poisoned Pen Press/Sourcebooks. He is a former Chapter President of the SoCal Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America and lives in Malibu, California.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB