©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

The Stars Are Legion

By Kameron Hurley
The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

“[A] thought-provoking space opera.” —Kirkus Reviews
“One of the most unusual and powerfully disturbing space operas we’re likely to see this year.” —Chicago Tribune

Set within a system of decaying world-ships travelling through deep space, this breakout novel of epic science fiction follows a pair of sisters who must wrest control of their war-torn legion of worlds—and may have to destroy everything they know in order to survive.

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. Here in the darkness, a war for control of the Legion has been waged for generations, with no clear resolution.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say there are her family. She is told she is their salvation, the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan’s new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion’s gravity well to the very belly of the world.

In the tradition of Iain M. Banks’s Culture novels and Roger Zelazny’s Chronicles of Amber, Kameron Hurley has created an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of our most celebrated new writers.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

19 Reviews

3.5
“Possibly one of the weirdest and most difficult to explain books I've ever read. This was also absolutely amazing in every way. I can't say enough wonderful things about an all-female, totally brutal, violent, insane, fever dream of a book set in space. Badass and incredible.”
“Weird, weird book. The idea of the living ships and their decay was a fascinating premise. Also the isolation between the different levels people live at, and the way their lives are different. based on the environment they live in. The whole situation of Zan's loss of memory was confusing - and I'm not sure such a rich and fascinating world is served by such an over-complicated situation. Zan's journey with her band of friends, on the other hand, is basically straight out of The Hero With A Thousand Faces. Ultimately I was waffling between 3 and 4 stars. It's memorable, and I hope Hurley writes more books in this universe.”
“Pretty effing fantastic! If you're into hard science fiction, with grit and action but also deep questions about what it means to be human and doing right, read the stars are legion. Zan is a warrior lord who bumbles through the same way we all might, and manages to accept who she is now and figure out how to start over. I'd love to be able to see what's beyond the final chapter of this book, but I'll definitely be picking up more of Kameron Hurley's books.”
“es un libro raro de cojones, pero muy original e interesante. Zan, Arankadash, Das Mudi y Casamir las quiero mucho mis bebés. no es para todo el mundo, pero creo que tampoco es taaaan grotesco, gore y explícito como dicen otras reseñas.”

About Kameron Hurley

Kameron Hurley is the acclaimed author of the novels God’s WarThe Mirror Empire,and The Light Brigade. Hurley has been awarded two Hugo Awards, the Kitschies Award for Best Debut Novel, and has also been a finalist for the Nebula Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the British Science Fiction and Fantasy Award, and the Locus Award. Visit the author online at KameronHurley.com or on Twitter at @KameronHurley.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB