©2024 Fable Group Inc.

The King of Elfland's Daughter

By Lord Dunsany & Paul Di Filippo
The King of Elfland's Daughter by Lord Dunsany & Paul Di Filippo digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

From “one of the greatest writers of this century,” a fantasy masterpiece about the aftermath of a marriage between a mortal prince and an elfin princess. —Arthur C. Clarke
 
Before the fellowships and wardrobes and dire wolves . . .
 
 . . . there was the village of Erl and the Kingdom of Elfland.
 
Considered formative to the development of the fairy tale and high fantasy subgenres, The King of Elfland's Daughter follows Alveric, who leaves home on a quest with a few basic instructions: locate the Princess Lirazel in Elfland, convince her to return to Erl and marry him, and together produce the first magical Lord of Erl.
 
But what happens when a village gets exactly what it asked for?
 
How does an elf learn to live as a human?
 
Is love lost once, lost forever?
 
The people of Erl are about to find out.
 
Take a walk through the fields we know and see if you can spot the pale-blue peaks of the Elfland Mountains. Fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, and Neil Gaiman will adore Lord Dunsany’s influential 1924 classic as much as those authors themselves did.
 
“No amount of mere description can convey more than a fraction of Lord Dunsany's pervasive charm.” —H. P. Lovecraft
 
“We find that he has but tranfigured with beauty the common sights of the world.” —William Butler Yeats
 
“No one can understand modern fantasy without understanding its roots, and Lord Dunsany's work is immediately significant as well as enjoyable even today.” —Katharine Kerr
 
“A fantasy novel in a class with the Tolkien books.”—L. Sprague de Camp

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

No Reviews

About Lord Dunsany

Lord Dunsany (1878–1957), born Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, was the eighteenth Baron of Dunsany as well as a writer and dramatist. Most notably known for his fantasy writing, Dunsany published over sixty works, including short stories, poetry, plays, novels, and essays. He became a prominent figure in the Irish Literary Revival in the early twentieth century, during which he worked with fellow writer W. B. Yeats. Dunsany is best known for his collections Fifty-One Tales and The Gods of Pegana, as well as his novel The King of Elfland’s Daughter, each of which continues to influence fantasy writers today. Dunsany died from appendicitis at the age of seventy-nine. 
 

Paul Di Filippo

Paul Di Filippo is a prolific science fiction, fantasy, and horror short story writer with multiple collections to his credit, among them The Emperor of Gondwanaland and Other Stories, Fractal Paisleys, The Steampunk Trilogy, and many more. He has written a number of novels as well, including Joe’s Liver and Spondulix: A Romance of Hoboken

Di Filippo is also a highly regarded critic and reviewer, appearing regularly in Asimov’s Science Fiction and the Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. A recent publication, coedited with Damien Broderick, is Science Fiction: The 101 Best Novels 1985–2010.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB