©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

The Devouring Wolf

By Natalie C. Parker
The Devouring Wolf by Natalie C. Parker digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

"A perfect read for every kid and every kid at heart who's ever felt like they weren't enough. This story of family in all its many forms is as deliciously fun to read as it is deeply relevant."  —Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Sweet Pea

A queer tale about kid werewolves, big bad mistakes, and terrifying creatures, perfect for fans of Katherine Arden and R.L. Stine.


Little wolf, little wolf, here I come.
 
It's the eve of the first full moon of summer and twelve-year-old Riley Callahan is ready to turn into a wolf. Nothing can ruin her mood: not her little brother Milo’s teasing, not Mama N’s smoth-ering, and not even Mama C’s absence from their pack’s ceremony. But then the unthink-able happens—something that violates every rule of wolf magic—Riley and four other kids don’t shift.

Riley is left with questions that even the pack leaders don’t have answers to. And to make matters far worse, it appears something was awoken in the woods that same night. 

The Devouring Wolf.

The elders tell the tale of the Devouring Wolf to scare young pups into obedience. It’s a terrifying campfire story for fledging wolves, an old legend of a giant creature who consumes the magic inside young werewolves. But to Riley, the Devouring Wolf is more than lore: it’s real and it’s after her and her friends.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

5 Reviews

3.5
“This was a sweet middle grade novel about a young werewolf named Riley who is anxiously awaiting her first transformation. Unfortunately, the night arrives and the call goes out, but she doesn't transform. Alongside 4 other wolfless kids, she gets to the bottom of what's happening to their pack. The cast of characters for this was cute, if a little simplistic. I appreciated the way the author included a diverse mix of genders, sexualities, races, and body types. Riley and her friends are all 12 years old and they do feel young. It was well done for a middle grade novel, but I still can't find much enthusiasm for books in this age range.”
“4.5/5 ⭐️”
“https://images.gr-assets.com/hostedimages/1667497059ra/33574482.gif Cute!! The internal narrative of Riley feels super on par for the age and I loved the queer angst even if Riley doesn't know what it means, or maybe especially so. I'm super excited for the next one in this adorable series!”

About Natalie C. Parker

Natalie C. Parker is the author and editor of several books for young adults, among them the acclaimed Seafire trilogy. Her work has been included on the NPR Best Books list, the Indie Next List, the TAYSHAS Reading List, and Junior Library Guild selections. Natalie grew up in a Navy family, finding home in coastal cities from Virginia to Japan. Now she lives with her wife on the Kansas prairie. Find her at nataliecparker.com.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB