©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

The City of Brass

By S. A. Chakraborty
The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It’s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound—and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer

Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

2714 Reviews

4.0
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“My one issue was I didn’t think there was a glossary. I discovered there is a glossary upon turning the last page… although it could’ve used just a few more additions. I struggled with the aspects of this book because I was getting confused by all the terms, nicknames, titles, slang, and slurs. I mostly followed what was happening using context clues, but I didn’t feel like I got a full grip on it. Djinn slavery totally went over my head. Despite this, I actually enjoyed the political aspects of the book; that surprised me. Usually the politics in books bore me, or they confuse me. I think because the main characters were so involved it made it easier to follow. Overal, I really enjoyed this. I felt the plot was engaging. I loved the mythology and magic and the world created in that sphere with the Middle Eastern influences. The world building was good albeit confusing at times. I liked the dual pov and felt I was seeing vastly different sides of this story which doesn’t always happen. I loved how fleshed out the characters were and how my feelings towards each changed with each new piece of information or new scene. Overall, great book. Solid start to the trilogy!”
Diverse charactersMulti-layered charactersTwistyBeautiful settingMagical settingComing of ageThought-provokingViolence
Slightly Smiling Face“I almost DNF’ed this book but I decided to keep listening and I’m glad I did! The ending surprised me but it left me interested in what happens in the rest of the trilogy. I’ll revisit at some point this year (hopefully).”
Slightly Smiling Face
Diverse charactersMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingMagical settingDark
Expressionless Face
ViolenceBad writingLack of diversityUnsatisfying plot

About S. A. Chakraborty

Shannon Chakraborty is the author of the critically acclaimed and internationally bestselling Daevabad Trilogy. Her work has been translated into over a dozen language and nominated for the Hugo, Locus, World Fantasy, Crawford, and Astounding awards. You can find her online at www.sachakraborty.com or on Instagram and Twitter as @SAChakrabooks.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB