©2024 Fable Group Inc.

The Black Witch

By Laurie Forest
The Black Witch by Laurie Forest digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

The New York Times bestselling series!

“Maximum suspense, unusual magic—a whole new, thrilling approach to fantasy!”
—Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Powerful magic. A deadly legacy. A world at the edge of war. Prepare to be spellbound by fantasy series, The Black Witch Chronicles.

Elloren Gardner is the spitting image of her grandmother, who drove back the enemy forces in the last Realm War. But while her people believe she will follow in her grandmother's footsteps and become the next Black Witch of prophecy, Elloren is devoid of power in a society that prizes magical ability above all else.

When she is granted the opportunity to pursue her dream of becoming an apothecary, Elloren joins her brothers at Verpax University. But she soon realizes that the university may be the most treacherous place of all for the granddaughter of the Black Witch.

As evil looms and the pressure to live up to her heritage builds, Elloren's best hope of survival may be among a secret band of rebels…if only she can find the courage to trust those she’s been taught to fear.

Critics are raving about Laurie Forest’s incredible debut, The Black Witch:

“Forest uses a richly imagined magical world to offer an uncompromising condemnation of prejudice and injustice.”
Booklist, starred review

“A noteworthy debut.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Briskly paced, tightly plotted.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Books in The Black Witch Chronicles:
  • The Black Witch
  • The Iron Flower
  • The Shadow Wand
  • The Demon Tide
  • The Dryad Storm
  • Wandfasted (ebook novella)*
  • Light Mage (ebook novella)*

* Also available in print in The Rebel Mages anthology

706 Reviews

Surprised Face with Open Mouth“This book was so incredibly good! This book had me giggling, closing the book, and pacing the room. I felt all the emotions! I will definitely be continuing the series! This book was just mind blowing! I definitely recommend! The only thing though is it left you on such a cliffhanger and like I need to pick up the next book NOW!😁😭”
Characters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingEasy to readFunny writingOriginal writing
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“This book was such an unexpected 5 star read. I loves it so much and can't wait to read the next one”
Characters change and growDiverse charactersMulti-layered charactersEasy to readAddictiveFast-pacedDark settingMagical settingThought-provokingAnimal abuse
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes
Believable charactersCharacters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingEasy to read
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“I really enjoyed this book and seeing the characters grow. Diana was easily my favorite character and I’ll rage if anything happens to her! I will say there are some heavy topics in this book and I feel like a lot of the bad reviews were from those who DNF or didn’t actually read the book. Because if you actually finish it, you’d know this book is about growth as a person and overcoming learned prejudice. It’s not condoning these beliefs at all. Anyway, I gave this 4.5⭐️ instead of 5 because it did kind of bother me that some plot points kept getting brought up but never actually happened in this book. I’m assuming they will be addressed in the next book but it was still a little frustrating. I was invested the whole way through though which can be hard for me to do. I can’t wait to start the next one!”
Characters change and growDescriptive writingAddictiveDark settingMagical settingRomanticHomophobiaMisogynyRacism

About Laurie Forest

Laurie Forest lives deep in the backwoods of Vermont, where she sits in front of a wood stove drinking strong tea and dreaming up tales full of dryads, dragons and wands. She is the author of The Black Witch Chronicles, including The Black Witch, The Iron Flower, The Shadow Wand, The Demon Tide and the prequel e-novellas Wandfasted and Light Mage, which are also available in print as The Rebel Mages anthology. Enter her realm online at www.laurieannforest.com.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!


Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB