©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.5 

Six Truths and a Lie

By Ream Shukairy
Six Truths and a Lie by Ream Shukairy digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

Six Muslim teens are falsely accused of a deadly attack in this timely and harrowing examination of America’s justice system, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Samira Ahmed.

As fireworks pop off at a rowdy Fourth of July bonfire party, an explosion off the California coast levels an oil rig—resulting in chaos and worse, murder.
 
At the center are six Muslim teens - six patriots, six strangers, and six suspects.  

An old soul caught in the wrong place. An aspiring doctor. An influencer with a reputation to protect. A perfect daughter with secrets to hide. A soccer star headed for Stanford. An immigrant in love. Each with something to hide and everything to lose.

Faced with accusations of terrorism, The Six are caught in a political game that will pit them against each other in exchange for exoneration. They must choose: frame each other to guarantee their own independence or expose their secrets to earn back freedom for them all.
 

4 Reviews

4.5
Diverse charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writing
Red Angry Face“My heart broke for the characters in this book. They were six teens in the wrong place at the wrong time. I’d like to think we live in a world where something like this could never actually happen but unfortunately it does. The message is powerful, but the author took a long time getting there. I felt like the story dragged in parts, got overly descriptive in some places, and the major plot points were just skimmed over.”
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingOriginal writingHeartbreakingThought-provokingRacism
Slightly Smiling Face
Diverse charactersLikable charactersEasy to read
Loudly Crying Face
Believable charactersCharacters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersSuspensefulTwistyComing of ageHeartbreaking

About Ream Shukairy

Ream Shukairy is the author of The Next New Syrian Girl and Six Truths and a Lie. She is a Syrian American born and raised full-time in Orange County, California and part-time over summers in Syria. Whether in California or Syria, she feels at home where her family is and wherever there’s a beach. She has a talent for learning languages and is always on the search for the next place she can travel and flex her words. The daughter of immigrants, there isn’t a stereotype she won’t try her hardest to defy. 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB