©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

She and Her Cat

By Makoto Shinkai & Naruki Nagakawa &
She and Her Cat by Makoto Shinkai & Naruki Nagakawa &  digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

For fans of Mieko Kawakami’s Breasts and Eggs and Murata Sayaka’s Earthlings, this Japanese bestseller from renowned anime director Makoto Shinkai features four inspirational and heartwarming vignettes following women and their cats in their quests for love and connection.

Lying alone on the edge of the sidewalk in an abandoned cardboard box, a nameless narrator contemplates the indifferent world around him. With his mother long gone, his only company is the sound of the nearby train. Just as he fears that the end is near, a young woman peers down at him, this fateful encounter changing their lives forever.

So begins the first story in She and Her Cat, a collection of four interrelated, stream-of-conscious short stories in which four women and their feline companions explore the frailty of life, the pain of isolation, and the limits of communication.

With clever narration alternating between the cats and their owners, She and Her Cat offers a unique and sly commentary on human foibles and our desire for connection. A whimsical short story anthology unlike any other, it effortlessly demonstrates that even in our darkest, most lonesome moments, we are still united to this wonderous world—often in ways we could never have expected.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

418 Reviews

3.5
Slightly Smiling Face
Beautifully writtenEasy to readRealistic settingFeel goodHeartbreaking
Slightly Smiling Face“Loves this book, so cute and as someone who loves cats, this was a 2 in 1!”
Characters change and growLikable charactersBeautifully writtenImmersive settingRealistic settingComing of age
Slightly Smiling Face
Multi-layered charactersFeel good

About Makoto Shinkai

Makoto Shinkai is the hugely popular and multi-award-winning anime filmmaker of Your Name and Weathering with You

Naruki Nagakawa

Naruki Nagakawa is a Japanese game and anime screenwriter, and novelist. She and Her Cat is inspired by Makoto Shinkai’s praised anime and written by Nagakawa, and will be published around the world. 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB