©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.0 

Nowhere Special

By Matt Wallace
Nowhere Special by Matt Wallace digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

Author Matt Wallace delivers a deeply moving story exploring that first formative friendship, navigating challenging family circumstances, and finding hope and strength in a forgotten desert town. Perfect for fans of Ernesto Cisneros and Julie Murphy.

The isolation and bullying Stan suffers at school are nothing compared to the war at home. After he tries and fails to defend his mom by standing up to his abusive father, Stan decides there is only one solution to finding a new self-confidence: he must learn how to fight.

Tragic events have split the two sides of Elpidia’s family into fighting factions. Every day she finds herself outnumbered by her cousins on the schoolyard. After the latest beatdown, her grandmother decides Elpidia must learn how to defend herself.

Stan and Elpidia seem like total opposites, but when they both wind up with the same reclusive trainer, they find an unexpected friendship as they work together to overcome their bullies. But when Stan gains the attention of a powerful gang leader, it threatens to pull him away from his new best friend. Will their dreams for the future be enough to get them out of this small town?

1 Review

3.0
“I loved the friendship between Stan and Elpidia, but found myself disappointed at what I ultimately read as an imbalance of character development between the two characters. Elpidia’s growth is ultimately centered more on Stan’s circumstances, whereas Stan got his own development and arc absent his friend. The messages around friendship and found family were really sweet, and the as difficult as it was at times to read about Stan’s home life, I know those are real situations kids his age (and younger) navigate in real life. I found the author’s note explaining their decisions on portraying that storyline valid and important. However, I wish the full book had focused more on the kids’ friendship and individual development with and near each other, rather than the direction it took in the back half. A solid 3.5.”

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB