©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.0 

Machine

By Elizabeth Bear
Machine by Elizabeth Bear digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A “spectacularly smart space opera” that follows Ancestral Night in the Hugo Award–winning author’s White Space duology (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Meet Doctor Jens.

She hasn’t had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she’s never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee.

But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away.

Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can’t resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she’s about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths.

Written in Elizabeth Bear’s signature “rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental” (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won’t be able to put down.

“Intelligently plotted and executed with flair, Machine is a taut sci-fi mystery thriller that eschews popcorn movie theatrics for immersive environments and memorable characters.” —Scott Whitmore, author of Green Zulu 51

“Ideal for fans of C. J. Cherryh, Ann Leckie, and Iain M. Banks.” —Booklist

“An intricately plotted fusion of science fiction adventure and conspiratorial mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This fascinating read is perfect for [fans of Star Trek’s] Dr. Crusher.” —StarTrek.com

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

4 Reviews

3.0
“I received this book for free in exchange for a review from NetGalley. I really wanted to like this book. From the start the right elements were there, a funny but dependable main character, great supporting characters and great world building. I felt the majority of the first half of the book was good, but there was too much info dumping and tangents (where the main character just starts talking about random topics) which interrupted the flow and pace of the plot. At first, it helped me understand the setting and main character more, but at some point it just got so repetitive and irksome that I just ended up skipping it. Then the mystery began and the main character started investigating it, but the way she went around it just plucked my nerves. It seemed like the main character wasn’t focused or even trying to crack the mystery but more focused on her space crew. It was super frustrating since I wanted more mystery solving and less moaning and groaning from the main character. Additionally, this is the last thing that did me in, the more I learned about the main character, the more I disliked her. The way she interacted with the other crew that wasn’t “right-minded” really turned me off. She acted so high and mighty and so much superior just because of that. The more she looked down her nose at the other characters, the more I didn’t care what happened to her. I wanted to be on her side (and there should have been some fascinating discussions about this right minding process that didn’t happen enough in my opinion) but it just didn’t get better the more I trudged through. Overall, I would still recommend this book to people who like more of the space opera side of this book and less of the mystery. I would still give this author a chance, but on another book outside of this series.”

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB