©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Lakesedge

By Lyndall Clipstone
Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.

When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haunted Lakesedge estate, they expect to find a monster. Leta knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn… Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

359 Reviews

3.5
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“My first Dark Romance novel and I had a blast! Beautiful setting and a truly gothic novel that falls into the Monster Love category (iykyk) and yes there is PLENTY of steam. More 16+ steam but it’s there hehe”
Multi-layered charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readAddictiveTwistyDark settingMagical settingComing of ageDarkRomantic
“reminded me of the edgy fanfictions i’d read in middle school while listening to evanescence but with fewer grammar mistakes”
Likable charactersDark settingDarkPredictable
“I'd probably give this book a 3.5 star rating. I honestly really liked the story and the characters and the world-building, but for some reason there was just something about this book that prevented me from really connecting emotionally with the characters. I enjoyed their company (so to speak) but in the end I didn't feel any emotions as they were going through their trials throughout the story. But, overall, this book is beautifully written and I enjoyed the mythos surrounding the Lord Under. If/when the second book comes out I will most likely read it because I do still want to know what happens next.”

About Lyndall Clipstone

Lyndall Clipstone writes about monsters and the girls who like to kiss them. A former youth librarian who grew up running wild in the Barossa Ranges of South Australia, she currently lives in Adelaide, where she tends her own indoor secret garden. She has a Bachelors in Creative Writing and a Graduate Diploma in Library and Information Management. Lakesedge is her debut novel, and its sequel is Forestfall.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB