©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Just Last Night

By Mhairi McFarlane
Just Last Night by Mhairi McFarlane digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" — Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author

International bestseller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird, or In Five Years.

Eve, Justin, Susie, and Ed have been friends since they were teenagers. Now in their thirties, the four are as close as ever, Thursday night bar trivia is sacred, and Eve is still secretly in love with Ed. Maybe she should have moved on by now, but she can’t stop thinking about what could have been. And she knows Ed still thinks about it, too.

But then, in an instant, their lives are changed forever.

In the aftermath, Eve’s world is upended. As stunning secrets are revealed, she begins to wonder if she really knew her friends as well as she thought. And when someone from the past comes back into her life, Eve’s future veers in a surprising new direction...

They say every love story starts with a single moment. What if it was just last night?

"[A] book I almost wish I’d written, except that would have robbed me of the intense joy of reading it... the kind of novel that will have you putting everything else on hold so you can keep turning pages until you reach its sparkling, brilliant end.” — Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

531 Reviews

3.5
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“Truly FANTASTIC! Haven’t read a book this good and unexpected in a long time! This book is so well-written that it‘s inspiring. What a joy to get to read. I borrowed this from the library but I wished the book belonged to me so I could highlight lines of gorgeous writing and dog-ear the heck out of it!! I laughed, I cried, I yelped out loud at the uncomfortable and truly upsetting moments, and I fawned over Mhairi’s skill with words. I borrowed this book from my local library but I wished it belonged to me so I could highlight lines of delightful writing!! I’m about to go buy this and all of her other books.”
Believable charactersCharacters change and growLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingOriginal writingAddictiveUnpredictableThought-provoking

About Mhairi McFarlane

Sunday Times bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane was born in Scotland, and her unnecessarily confusing name is pronounced Vah-Ree. After some efforts at journalism, she started writing fiction and her first book, You Had Me At Hello, was an instant success. She's now written ten novels, and she lives in Nottingham with a man and a cat.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon