©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

How to Love

By Katie Cotugno
How to Love by Katie Cotugno digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

For fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green, this is a breathtaking debut about a couple who fall in love...twice.

Before: Reena Montero has loved Sawyer LeGrande for as long as she can remember. But he's never noticed that Reena even exists...until one day, impossibly, he does. Reena and Sawyer fall in messy, complicated love. Then Sawyer disappears without a word, leaving a devastated—and pregnant—Reena behind.

After: Almost three years have passed, and there's a new love in Reena's life: her daughter. Reena's gotten used to life without Sawyer, but just as suddenly as he disappeared, he turns up again. Reena wants nothing to do with him, though she'd be lying if she said his being back wasn't stirring something in her.

After everything that's happened, can Reena really let herself love Sawyer LeGrande again?

271 Reviews

3.5
“When he left I held that I love you tight in my sweaty palm, tucked into my shirt like a talisma. I love you. The one thing he gave me that I didn't give him ten times over. The one thing I kept for myself. It's funny how I started reading this book with so much dislike for Reena and Sawyer, and ended up loving it so much now that I'm done with it. What I loved most about this book is how it was written. I felt in the moment and not just with how Katie described the scene. I also managed to make a connection with the characters. Connection as in I felt whatever they felt at that moment despite not really agreeing to what they're thinking or doing. There's something about how it's written that pulls you in and just holds you there until the very end. Even though you hate the characters and whatever stupid decisions they're making, you can't stop but continue and see where their stupidity takes them. I understand why others are disappointed with the characters and why they did not like the book. It's true. Sawyer and Reena are not likable. Sawyer is not charming as opposed to how Reena sees him. And Reena is someone you'd love to shake and/or slap just to make her realize things. But it's their flaws that made me like it because while they are definitely anything but likable, they were also true. They were fucked up but they were also struggling to get the better end of the deal. While reading, I kept waiting for a redemption for Sawyer. I was hoping that maybe there's more to what we readers and Reena know. Halfway through it, I realized that he is not the typical misunderstood-but-somewhat-deep kind of guy. He is really messed up. He's a bad influence for Reena, has done some shitty stuff and seems unapologetic most of the time. But he also doesn't want to be that way towards her. He wanted to be different towards her and actually wanted to please her- saying and doing things he thought Reena wanted. And despite failing and eventually hurting Reena, I appreciate him trying. And of course, disliking Sawyer would not be possible if you don't dislike Reena. She was like one of your friends that you want to shake so bad so she can wake up and straighten out her life. Like the other characters in the book, I obviously want the best for her and we get disappointed whenever she makes stupid decisions. But as if she was my friend, I also know that whatever I say would not mean so much to her. She's in love and therefore, irrational. The interactions between Reena, her family and Shelby was well done. Not so much but also enough to give you the glimpse of their roles in her life. What I really hoped for was more interactions with Hannah. Although she seems to be there all the time, it's more of being mentioned that really having a proper interaction with her. Overall, Katie really managed to write about teenage pregnancy and love very well. The stigma of having a kid at an early age was well portrayed. It shows that despite having a kid at an early age might stall your plans, it does not really define your future. This book shows the real thing about love. Sometimes it's taking you to an all-time high, euphoric and all-consuming but sometimes, it also pulls you down and makes you illogical and irrational. Love is messy, that's it.”

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB