©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

By Emily Austin
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she’s there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace.

In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace’s old friend. She can’t bear to ignore the kindly old woman who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can’t bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace’s death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence.

With a “kindhearted heroine we all need right now” (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author), Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling and “delightfully weird reminder that we will one day turn to dust and that yes, this is depressing, but it’s also what makes life beautiful” (Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl).

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

1573 Reviews

3.5
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“This was HILARIOUS. Gilda is such a relatable character, she has a horrible fear of dead and somehow she manages to end up working for the Catholic Church. Mind you, she is an atheist and queer. She somehow finds herself in the middle of a murder mystery and gives great commentary on such a difficult topic. As a Christian myself, I did find her thoughts hilarious especially when she started reading the Bible because she is such a people pleaser so she didn’t want to let god down by different things mentioned in this scriptures. Also, she tries to be so respectful which always ends up bitting her butt. Also the ending of this novel is the cherry on top. I screamed. Emily R Austin makes great characters that are complex and brings bitter existencial questions into her writing with a great sense of humor.”
Believable charactersDiverse charactersBeautifully writtenFunny writing
“this is not an easy read (AT ALL). it's more of a character exploration rather than a plot-driven story, but boy, do those explorations explore lol. the main character, Gilda, has a tendency to fixates on thoughts of life and death, and throughout the book, we can see clearly how this continuous rumination affects her, and not in a good way. personally, this is the first book that i've ever read that gives such a clear and thorough depiction of what mental illness looks like and how it eats you little by little until it eventually isolates you from all the could've beens. what i love, though, is that despite her condition, Gilda actually cares deeply about other living beings, and i also love the parts where we can see the small bits of tenderness that she was never allowed to show (either by her family or, as a result, by herself). that just makes the book even more intriguing to me”
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“⭐️ 5 stars ⭐️ “We are all just floating in space, okay? Think about it, we’re just ghosts inside skeletons, inside skin bags, floating on a rock in space. If there is anything that would make you feel happy to do, please do it.” Mini summary: Gilda must balance her new job at a catholic church, her tumultuous family, and maybe girlfriend all while living with the fact that everyone she knows will someday be dead. I cannot express how much I LOVED this book. It is such an incredible description of what it is like to live with mental illness. I FELT so much reading Gilda’s story, and no other book this year so far compares (except EA’s other book, “Interesting Facts About Space” 😌). And listen, the portrayal of Gilda’s parents as people who only care about appearances hits hard 🥺❤️‍🩹 Watching Gilda tumble through life was like watching a train wreck in slow motion, and you feel this dread waiting for everything she’s been avoiding or lying about to catch up with her. It’s such a fantastic read. I could not put it down, and at 243 pages, it was exactly what I needed to get me out of a reading slump 🥳”
Multi-layered charactersEasy to readFast-pacedRealistic setting
Rolling on the Floor Laughing Face
Multi-layered charactersDescriptive writingTwistyRealistic settingComicalComing of ageDarkHeartbreakingHomophobia
Thumbs Up“I’ve never had one unique thought in my life. I related to Gilda in so many ways. I, too, have questioned existence and wondered what’s the big picture of life. I loved this book. I laughed out loud more times than I could count. For anyone who thinks about “what’s the point” then to find out it’s about the little things, this one is for you.”
Multi-layered charactersFunny writingFast-pacedRealistic settingComicalDark

About Emily Austin

Emily Austin is the author of Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be DeadInteresting Facts About Space, and the poetry collection Gay Girl Prayers. She was born in Ontario, Canada, and received two writing grants from the Canadian Council for the Arts. She studied English literature and library science at Western University. She currently lives in Ottawa, in the territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation.  

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB