©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.5 

Dear Wendy

By Ann Zhao
Dear Wendy by Ann Zhao digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

An Instant Indie Bestseller!

Dear Wendy's
Sophie and Jo, two aromantic and asexual college students, engage in an online feud while unknowingly becoming friends in real life, in this dual POV Young Adult contemporary debut from Ann Zhao

Sophie Chi is in her first year of college (though her parents wish she'd attend a “real” university rather than a liberal arts school) and has long accepted her aroace (aromantic and asexual) identity. She knows she’ll never fall in love, but she enjoys running an Instagram account that offers relationship advice to students at her school. No one except her roommate can know that she’s behind the incredibly popular “Dear Wendy” account.

When Joanna “Jo” Ephron (also a first-year aroace college student) created their “Sincerely Wanda” account, it wasn’t at all meant to take off or be taken seriously—not like Wendy’s. But now they might have a rivalry of sorts with Wendy’s account? Oops. As if Jo’s not busy enough having existential crises over gender identity, whether she’ll ever truly be loved, and the possibility of her few friends finding The One then forgetting her!

While tensions are rising online, Sophie and Jo grow closer in real life, especially once they realize their shared aroace identity and start a campus organization for other a-spec students. Will their friendship survive if they learn just who’s behind the Wendy and Wanda accounts?

Exploring a-spec identities, college life, and more, while perfect for fans of Alice Oseman’s Loveless, this is ultimately a love story about two people who are not—and will not—be in love!

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

27 Reviews

4.5
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes
Believable charactersCharacters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersEasy to readComing of ageFeel goodThought-provoking
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes
Believable charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readFunny writingAddictiveFast-pacedComing of ageFeel good
Beaming Face with Smiling Eyes“this is the aroace representation i didn’t know i needed in my life. seeing how the two main characters, sophie and jo, navigate their lives, friendships, classwork, extracurriculars, and other obligations as aroace people is eye-opening. it makes me feel like i can understand my aroace friends a bit more. also, i was SO called out by charlie’s character (nonbinary neurodivergent demisexual). overall, a great read. my only complaint is that the book is over.”
Diverse charactersLikable charactersOriginal writingRealistic settingComing of ageFeel good
Loudly Crying Face“I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! even though i’m not aroace, i’m on the demi spectrum and found myself relating to not only Jo and Sophie (MCs) but many of the side characters as well. i love so many things about this book i don’t even know where to start. the setting at Wellesley is so unique but with similar college experiences one would have at any university. i love all the different character dynamics throughout the book between friends, parents, siblings, their sociology professor, and between Jo and Sophie (obv). i enjoyed all of Zhao’s references to pop culture, academia, and internet communities. i liked how many new things i learned throughout the book about gender, love/relationships, and sexuality. most of all, i LOVED reading Jo and Sophie’s platonic love story! i didn’t expect to cry over it but i did 😭 they’re just so cute, relatable, and funny! this became an instant favorite for me. i can’t believe this is Zhao’s debut novel because of how well-written it is. i will be eagerly waiting for more from her!”
Diverse charactersLikable charactersFunny writingRealistic settingThought-provoking
Slightly Smiling Face
Diverse charactersEasy to readFast-pacedRealistic settingComing of ageBigotry

About Ann Zhao

Ann Zhao is a graduate of Wellesley College, where she studied linguistics with a minor in women’s and gender studies. She enjoys cooking, baking, and knitting, and she does not enjoy cleaning up after herself when she’s done with these activities. Dear Wendy is her debut novel.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB