©2024 Fable Group Inc.
2.5 

Between the Water and the Woods

By Simone Snaith & Sara Kipin
Between the Water and the Woods by Simone Snaith & Sara Kipin digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

Emeline's quiet village has three important rules:
Don't look at the shadows.
Don't cross the river.
And don't enter the forest.

An illustrated fantasy filled with beauty and power, Between the Water and the Woods sweeps you into a world where forests are hungry; knights fight with whips; the king is dying; and a peasant girl's magic will decide the future of the realm . . .

When Emeline's little brother breaks all three of their village's rules, she is forced to use her family's forbidden magic to rescue him from the dark things he awakens, the Ithin. Now that the Ithin are afoot in the land, she must, by law, travel to the royal court and warn the king. But the only way she and her family can make the journey to the capital is with the protection of a sour magister and a handsome, whip-wielding Lash Knight. Will Emeline survive in a city where conspiracies swirl like smoke and her magic is all but outlawed?

Seven full-page black-and-white illustrations accompany Between the Water and the Woods, a lush, fairy-tale-style fantasy perfect for readers of Karen Cushman and Shannon Hale.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

About Simone Snaith

Simone Snaith is originally from Louisiana but now lives in L.A., where she sings in the New Wave band Turning Violet and works as a freelance journalist. She loves sci-fi, fantasy, music, deep forests, and all things '80s. Follow her @schimonie.

Sara Kipin is a graduate of the Maryland Institute College of Art's illustration program and works as a color stylist at Warner Bros. Animation. She has also worked at Marvel Animation and Nickelodeon, and illustrated Leigh Bardugo's New York Times bestselling book The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic. Sara lives in Burbank, California. Follow her @sarakipin.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB