©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

Aphrodite Made Me Do It

By Trista Mateer
Aphrodite Made Me Do It by Trista Mateer digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

Voted one of the best poetry collections of 2019 by readers on Goodreads! Bestselling and Goodreads Choice Award winning poet Trista Mateer takes a magical approach to self-care with her new collection, Aphrodite Made Me Do It.
 
In this empowering and feminist retelling, Mateer transforms the mythology of the goddess into 224 pages of modern poetry and full-color artwork. Broken into sections alternating between the perspective of The Poet and Aphrodite herself, the work within tackles the timeless topic of love--romantic, platonic, and self-love. The collection addresses issues like heartbreak, sexuality, womanhood, trauma, and the restorative power in taking control of your own lore, speaking your truths, and rewriting your origin story. If you let her, by the end of this book, Aphrodite will make you believe in the possibility of your own healing.

"If you were only made to be beautiful, we wouldn't have put you down here in the dirt."Perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace, Nikita Gill, Rupi Kaur, Elizabeth Acevedo, Rick Riordan, and Madeline Miller; or anyone interested in Greek myths, tarot, and Instagram poetry.

This is the first book in the Myth & Magick series, which also includes Artemis Made Me Do It and Persephone Made Me Do It.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

72 Reviews

4.0
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes
Likable charactersBeautifully writtenBeautiful settingImmersive setting
“maybe it’s the english major in me & the countless poetry classes i’ve taken, hours analyzing & critiquing every line, but i tend to be very particular about the kind of poetry i like. with that, i typically don’t jive with short poetry due to it not feeling as if it captures the emotions & details in the same way longer poetry does (even just a difference from a four line poem to a fifteen line poem). that being said, i absolutely LOVED this collection! this is the first poetry book i’ve given a full five stars in months! (& i read poetry often). i adored the differentiation between the poet’s perspective & aphrodite’s. i think it’s so interesting & new to see poetry done like this. the art in the middle of the poems was absolutely spectacular, & it provided a nice break up between just pages & pages of words. this collection truly captured womanhood in a way i haven’t experienced with any poetry book before. it made me sympathize with aphrodite & the narrative that i’ve been taught. it made me smile, cry, reflect on my own personal experiences as a woman, empathize with others and what i haven’t experienced, & so much more. i’m running out of characters & i still have more to say”
Beautifully writtenThought-provokingSexual assault
Loudly Crying Face
Beautifully writtenDescriptive writingOriginal writing

About Trista Mateer

Trista Mateer is a passionate mental health advocate, utilizing her large online platform (and her work) to destigmatize and springboard conversations surrounding grief, loss, trauma, anxiety, depression, etc. A multi-faceted creative force, Mateer is best known for Aphrodite Made Me Do It—a collection of art and poetry—which explores modern feminist issues through the lens of Greek mythology. Whatever she’s writing about, Mateer invites readers into a world where vulnerability is celebrated.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB