©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

A Study in Drowning

By Ava Reid
A Study in Drowning by Ava Reid digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

An instant Indie and #1 New York Times bestseller!

“Achingly atmospheric and beautifully sharp, A Study in Drowning will draw you in from the first page.” —Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls

Bestselling author Ava Reid makes her YA debut in this dark academic fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Elana K. Arnold.

Effy Sayre has always believed in fairy tales. Haunted by visions of the Fairy King since childhood, she’s had no choice. Her tattered copy of Angharad—Emrys Myrddin’s epic about a mortal girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, then destroys him—is the only thing keeping her afloat. So when Myrddin’s family announces a contest to redesign the late author’s estate, Effy feels certain it’s her destiny.

But musty, decrepit Hiraeth Manor is an impossible task, and its residents are far from welcoming. Including Preston Héloury, a stodgy young literature scholar determined to expose Myrddin as a fraud. As the two rivals piece together clues about Myrddin’s legacy, dark forces, both mortal and magical, conspire against them—and the truth may bring them both to ruin.

Part historical fantasy, part rivals-to-lovers romance, part Gothic mystery, and all haunting, dreamlike atmosphere, Ava Reid's powerful YA debut will lure in readers who loved The Atlas Six, House of Salt and Sorrows, or Girl, Serpent, Thorn.

2636 Reviews

3.5
Beaming Face with Smiling Eyes
Descriptive writingEasy to readSuspensefulBeautiful settingDark settingImmersive settingDarkRomantic
Slightly Smiling Face
Likable charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingOriginal writingUnpredictableDark settingMagical setting
“This book has been on my TBR regrettably longer than I would like to admit now that I have finished it. It’s a haunting read that combines what is true and what is imagine, what haunts us and what empowers us. The story took elements from Celtic folklore and layered it beautifully throughout, blending it in a way that left the reader questioning reality. This story is about women who are taken advantage of and abused by the patriarchal system, but who overcome what confines them. Further, it’s about the chains set by society that weigh us down. My heart broke for the characters as they each faced their own prejudice and limitations set by others. In a way, I read about these characters who drowned, but were able to resurface anew.”
Multi-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingSuspensefulTwistyDark settingHeartbreakingThought-provokingMisogynySexual assault

About Ava Reid

Ava Reid was born in Manhattan and raised right across the Hudson River in Hoboken but currently lives in Palo Alto. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College, focusing on religion and ethnonationalism. 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB