©2024 Fable Group Inc.
Blog

15 Books That Celebrate Asexuality and the ACE Spectrum

Asexuality
Once a year, the world celebrates Asexual Awareness Week. But here at Fable, we are always looking for more books with authors and characters along the ace spectrum.Ace Week is an international campaign to educate about ace spectrum experiences. The week takes place during the last full week in October. It’s the perfect occasion to celebrate the often misunderstood and excluded identity, but it’s essential to acknowledge and support asexuality all the time, not just in October.

What is Asexuality?

Something important to know is that asexuality is a spectrum. There is not just one way to define it. Asexuality is an intrinsic part of people’s identities--it’s not just a choice they make, like celibacy. Though some asexual people might not experience sexual attraction or be drawn to people sexually, others might experience a little sexual attraction. Asexuality is different for everyone. Attraction and action are not the same, and while some asexual people might be repulsed by the idea of sexual activities and won’t engage in it, others might be sex-neutral or sex-positive and will have sex.Some common a-spec identities are gray-asexual and demi-sexual. Grey-asexuality describes someone who is between sexual and asexual. Grey-asexual people might not experience attraction frequently, but they sometimes do. They may experience a low sex drive, or enjoy sexual relationships with particular conditions and in certain circumstances.Demi-sexuality describes someone who does not experience primary sexual attraction or the type of attraction based on first impressions (or immediately observable characterstics, such as appearance or smell). A demi-sexual person might experience sexual attraction only after they’ve developed a close emotional connection with someone.Here are 15 books you should read to celebrate and learn about asexuality!
Let's Talk About Love by Claire Kann digital book - Fable

Let's Talk About Love

By Claire Kann

When Alice's blissful summer takes an unexpected turn and Takumi becomes her knight with a shiny library-employee badge (close enough), Alice has to decide if she’s willing to risk their friendship for a love that might not be reciprocated—or understood.

The Summer of Bitter and Sweet by Jen Ferguson digital book - Fable

The Summer of Bitter and Sweet

By Jen Ferguson

Lou is working in her family’s ice-cream shack with her ex-boyfriend and her ex-best friend. But when she gets a letter from her biological father and her family’s business comes under threat, she soon realizes that she can’t ignore her father forever.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire digital book - Fable

Every Heart a Doorway

By Seanan McGuire

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells. But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee digital book - Fable

Tash Hearts Tolstoy

By Kathryn Ormsbee

After a shout-out from one of the internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka has gone viral. When her show is nominated for an award, her cyber-flirtation with a fellow award nominee has the potential to become something real.

Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim digital book - Fable

Scavenge the Stars

By Tara Sim

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.

The Romantic Agenda by Claire Kann digital book - Fable

The Romantic Agenda

By Claire Kann

Joy is secretly in love with her best friend Malcolm, but she’s never been brave enough to say so. Fox sees a kindred spirit in Joy—and decides to help her. He proposes they pretend to fall for each other on the weekend trip to make Malcolm jealous.

Refusing Compulsory Sexuality by Sherronda J. Brown digital book - Fable

Refusing Compulsory Sexuality

By Sherronda J. Brown

A Black queer feminist exploration of asexuality--and an incisive interrogation of the sex-obsessed culture that invisibilizes and ignores asexual and A-spec identity.

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman digital book - Fable

Radio Silence

By Alice Oseman

Frances has always had one goal: elite university. Nothing will stand in her way. Not friends, not a guilty secret—not even the person she is on the inside. But when Frances meets the genius behind her favorite podcast, she finds a new freedom.

Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman digital book - Fable

Summer Bird Blue

By Akemi Dawn Bowman

Rumi spends a lot of time worrying she doesn’t have the answers to everything. But there is one thing she is absolutely sure of—spending her life writing music with her sister, Lea. Then Lea dies in a car accident,

Ace by Angela Chen digital book - Fable

Ace

By Angela Chen

An engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that’s obsessed with sexual attraction, and what the ace perspective can teach all of us about desire and identity.

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand digital book - Fable

Sawkill Girls

By Claire Legrand

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab digital book - Fable

Vicious

By V.E. Schwab

In Vicious, V. E. Schwab brings to life a gritty comic-book-style world in vivid prose: a world where gaining superpowers doesn't automatically lead to heroism, and a time when allegiances are called into question.

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland digital book - Fable

Dread Nation

By Justina Ireland

In this new America, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Education Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead.

Meet Cute Diary by Emery Lee digital book - Fable

Meet Cute Diary

By Emery Lee

In this charming novel by Emery Lee, Noah will have to choose between following his own rules for love or discovering that the most romantic endings are the ones that go off script.

The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun digital book - Fable

The Charm Offensive

By Alison Cochrun

Dev has always believed in fairy tales and he’s spent his career crafting them on a reality dating show Ever After. But even reality TV has a script, and in order to find a happily ever after, he'll have to reconsider whose love story gets told.

Find LGBTQ+ reading book clubs and book recommendations on Fable

In a world struggling with cognitive dissonance and toxic behaviors on social media, we believe that a reading habit delivers digital nutrition. Our platform ensures that our community members can reap the general health benefits of reading and the mental well-being benefits of reading books on our platform.Fable community members enjoy the many benefits of reading while making deeper human connections with other readers. Start by exploring our exceptional book recommendations from some of the world’s great tastemakers. Each Folio covers an important theme, and some of our Folio curators include LeVar Burton, Paulo Coelho, Wolfgang Puck, and Jasmine Guillory. 

Discover great queer recommendations on Fable!

Fable also makes it easy for readers to share their thoughts and connect with others through Reading Clubs. With our platform, you can host every aspect of an online discussion at a single destination to reach readers and build safe online communities regardless of location or time zone. Start your own book club today!Every week, we update our Fable blog with new features, interviews, and reader resources. Explore any of these pages to become a better reader and discover book recommendations in every genre. 

Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB