©2024 Fable Group Inc.
Harlan Ellison avatar

Harlan Ellison



Harlan Ellison (1934–2018), in a career spanning more than fifty years, wrote or edited one hundred fourteen books; more than seventeen hundred stories, essays, articles, and newspaper columns; two dozen teleplays; and a dozen motion pictures. He won the Hugo Award eight and a half times (shared once); the Nebula Award three times; the Bram Stoker Award, presented by the Horror Writers Association, five times (including the Lifetime Achievement Award in 1996); the Edgar Allan Poe Award of the Mystery Writers of America twice; the Georges Melies Fantasy Film Award twice; and two Audie Awards (for the best in audio recordings); and he was awarded the Silver Pen for Journalism by PEN, the international writers’ union. He was presented with the first Living Legend Award by the International Horror Critics at the 1995 World Horror Convention. Ellison is the only author in Hollywood ever to win the Writers Guild of America award for Outstanding Teleplay (solo work) four times, most recently for “Paladin of the Lost Hour,” his Twilight Zone episode that was Danny Kaye’s final role, in 1987. In 2006, Ellison was awarded the prestigious title of Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Dreams with Sharp Teeth, the documentary chronicling his life and works, was released on DVD in May 2009. He passed away in 2018 at the age of eighty-four.

Harlan Ellison Books

Greatest Hits book cover

Greatest Hits

Harlan Ellison
Dangerous Visions book cover

Dangerous Visions

Harlan Ellison
Blood Is Not Enough book cover

Blood Is Not Enough

Ellen Datlow
Grave Predictions book cover

Grave Predictions

Drew Ford
Protectors 2: Heroes book cover

Protectors 2: Heroes

Andrew Vachss
Wandering Stars book cover

Wandering Stars

Jack Dann
More Wandering Stars book cover

More Wandering Stars

Jack Dann
The Nail and the Oracle book cover

The Nail and the Oracle

Theodore Sturgeon
Alien Sex book cover

Alien Sex

Ellen Datlow
Mammoth Books presents The Region Between book cover

Mammoth Books presents The Region Between

Harlan Ellison
Fantastic Stories of the Imagination  (with linked TOC) book cover

Fantastic Stories of the Imagination (with linked TOC)

Warren Lapine
Cthulhu 2000 book cover

Cthulhu 2000

Jim Turner
Jacques Futrelle's "The Thinking Machine" book cover

Jacques Futrelle's "The Thinking Machine"

Jacques Futrelle
Shadows of Death book cover

Shadows of Death

H.P. Lovecraft
Notification Icon